Thursday, August 13, 2009 | By: Rudi Butt

Railway Tunnel

1910, First KCR Beacon Hill Tunnel; construction began in 1906, single lane tunnel of standard gauge, 2.2 km long; was the greatest engineering project in Asia of its time; tunnel opened with four other tunnels – Yau Ma Tei, Ma Liu Shui, North Tai Po Kau and South Tai Po Kau – and the rest of the line in October 1910; closed upon completion of the electrified Second KCR Beacon Hill Tunnel was put in use; now occupied by town gas facilities.

Exit at Kowloon Tong


Post a Comment